A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

Editor's Choice:

Home about administration administration of dadra and nagar haveli

Share this on Facebook!

Administration of Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Want more stories like this?

Like us on Facebook to get more!

Administration of Dadra and Nagar Haveli

Spread over an area of 487 square kilometers, Dadar and Nagar Haveli became a union territory of India in 1961 and thus, its administration was then rested in the hands of the Indian government. Now, this small union territory has representatives that belong to both the houses in the Parliament of India.

The President of India appoints an Administrator to look over the administration of Dadar and Nagar Haveli and is also known as the 'Lieutenant Governor'. He is the head of Dadar and Nagar Haveli government and is followed by a Secretary of Finance.

Dadar and Nagar Haveli is divided into two Taluks, namely, Dadar and Nagar Haveli. While the former Taluk comprises of Dadar and two other villages, the latter Taluk comprises of Silvassa and 68 other villages. Dadar is the headquarters for the Dadar Taluka and Silvassa is the headquarters of Nagar Haveli Taluka.

Who is Who in Dadar and Nagar Haveli

Administrator: Shree Ashish Kundra

Finance Secretary: Shree P.S. Reddy

Development Commissioner: Shree Sandeep Kumar

Secretary (Social Welfare): Shree P. Lalchhuanga

Secretary (Education): Shree Ramesh Verma

Collector: Shree Gaurav Singh Rajawat

Director (Technical & Higher Education): Shree J.P. Agrawal

Resident Deputy Collector, Silvassa: Smt. Asha Chaudhary Malhotra

Resident Deputy Collector, Khanvel: Shree Ved Prakash

Deputy Director (Transport): Shree Kishor Kumar Bhalla

Chief Officer, Silvassa Municipal Council: Shree Nitin Kumar Jindal

Government and Politics in Dadar and Nagar Haveli

Dadar and Nagar Haveli was a part of the Portuguese colony till the year 1954, after which it became a part of the Indian sub-continent. However, even after that the government and politics was independent and autonomous over here. It was only in 1961, did it become a Union Territory and a part of the Indian Government. With representatives in both the houses of the Indian Parliament, some major political parties that fight for government in Dadar and Nagar Haveli are Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC), Shiv Sena (SHS), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Communist Party of India (Marxist), Samajwadi Party (SP), Bharatiya Navshakti Party (BNP) and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

Courts in Dadra and Nagar Haveli

The District and Sessions Court in Dadra and Nagar Haveli is located at the capital city of Silvassa. It was established in the year 1963 as per Notification Number 8 of the Indian Government; however, this court started functioning in the year 1965 at Saheed Chowk in Naroli Char Rasta, where it initially operated. Later in 1998, the court building was shifted to Tokarkhada.

The Principal District and Session Judge in Dadra and Nagar Haveli is Shree B. P. Patil, where as, Shree P. A. Singh is the current Civil Judge (SD) of Chief Judicial Magistrate (C.J.M.) and Smt K. R. Rajput is the current Civil Judge (JD) of Judicial Magistrate of First Class (J.M.F.C.). The current Guardian Judge of Dadra and Nagar Haveli is Justice A.A. Sayed.

Related Links

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries